Right... so what should we do with the wiki?

Discuss anything that involves Wikifang, the Telefang Wiki, here.
Blaziken257

Re: Right... so what should we do with the wiki?

Post by Blaziken257 »

As most people know, Wikia made a new layout and got rid of the old one yesterday, coincidentally the same day as Telefang's 10th anniversary. And it's very controversial: With very difficult-to-find basic links such as the typical article/discussion/edit/history links, a confusing layout, an enormous sidebar, loads of ads, among other things, it has annoyed many people here. And not just Wikifang users. It's alienating many Wikia users in general, encouraging many to migrate to other hosts.

OK, many of you know about that already. First, should we move in the first place? And if we move, what kind of host would we be using? I'm not good at this kind of stuff, so hopefully someone else here would know. I think I recall at least a few people offering to host it, though, so if someone can work that out then that would be much appreciated.

Second... if we do move, how are we going to move all the articles, templates, images, and edit histories? Is there software that automatically does this, or are we going to have to do all of this by hand? This is going to be quite tedious...

Third, some of you may know about NIWA, a network about various Nintendo wikis. Now, Telefang isn't really a Nintendo franchise, but rather a Smilesoft one. But every Telefang game (as well as Bugsite/Dino Device) was released on a Nintendo system, so hopefully this shouldn't be a problem at all. But fortunately, I noticed that Sanky mentioned about this here on the NIWA forum and a couple of people said that joining NIWA would, indeed, be possible -- that is, if we move away from Wikia. Do you all think that we should do it? I think that it would be a good idea.